Congratulations! Aspen is the perfect place to start your life together- with our beautiful mountain scenery, world-renowned restaurants, romantic venues and our deluxe accommodations - it is a destination that will defy ordinary.
Marriage License requirements in Pitkin County
Colorado loves love! State statute makes it easy to obtain a license and get married and even allows couples to marry themselves. We began issuing same sex marriage licenses 10/6/14.
To obtain a marriage license, you will want to contact the Pitkin County Clerk & Recorder via phone at 970.429.2707, or online on the Pitkin County website: Marriage requirements. By filling out information on the Marriage & Civil Union License Kiosk you will save a few minutes of time when you stop by the office to pick up the license.
- Apply at the Clerk & Recorder's Office, Monday through Friday, 9am to 4:30pm. Arrive by 4pm to allow time to complete the process prior to closing.
- The marriage license issued must be used within 35 days of being issued.
- The fee to apply is $30.
- Marriage License Checklist
A marriage or civil union ceremony may be performed by clergy, a judge or a retired judge of a court, by a court magistrate, by a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, Indian tribe officials, or the parties to the marriage. Clergy from out of state need not be registered in Colorado. For more information please reference the Pitkin County website.
Local Justices of the Peace / Officiants
Judge Brooke Peterson can be contacted at 970.544.0499
Clerk of the Court can be contacted at 970.925.7635
Rabbi Itzhak Vardy can be contacted at 970.925.9568